We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Songs About Music

by Miss Massive Snowflake

supported by
  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $8 USD

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    with artwork by Starbage Hands

    Includes unlimited streaming of Songs About Music via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      $12 USD

    You own this  


  • Full Digital Discography Full Digital Discography

    Get all 44 North Pole Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 50%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Candle, Intrepid Feelings, 1/4" – XLR, Oh Shoot, Your Favorite Band, Your Favorite Band (single), General Delivery, Hungry For, and 36 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      $99 USD or more (50% OFF)

    You own this


Good Morning 05:36
Be Brave 02:40
I Do 03:49
An American 02:22
Two Guys 02:03
Knife Blade 02:33
Good Night 07:30
Encore 05:19


Charismatic weird rockers, Miss Massive Snowflake, craft catchy and deceptively intricate pop songs that are lyrically engaging and musically adept, a politically charged mix of glammy rock and dynamic compositions. Piloted by the irrepressible Shane de Leon, whose strong voice and humorous wit, lead protest songs that come off like party anthems. Horns wail and punch screwed groove guitar riffs, while fat bass and polyrhythmic percussion combine with both female and male vocals to make beautiful, moving, and intellectually satisfying rock music. This is Miss Massive Snowflake's second full-length album following the 2008 electronic based, "Queen's Headache" (NPR07). After 2 solo European and Stateside tours, where de Leon charmed audiences with multi-media theatrics armed with a laptop, projector, and acoustic guitar, he assembled a group featuring Bill Horist (Master Musicians of Bukake), Zacery Stanley (Dramady), and Jeanne Kennedy Crosby. "Songs About Music" was recorded by Gilles (Rollerball, The Pink Widower) and the sound is clean, full bodied, and sweet. The band will be touring Europe in April and domestically in summer 2010. Miss Massive Snowflake makes music that is at once playful and overtly political with most tracks clocking in under 3 minutes. de Leon has left behind the sonic obtuseness of the decade he spent working with legendary Portland experimental rockers, Rollerball, for pointed lyrics and quirky rock sing alongs. A tasty Flaming Lips/ Bowie rock concotion mixed with Minutemen/Beck song structure blasts, and Marc Ribot angularity cooked down with Funkadelic's civil disobedience.


released March 16, 2010

de Leon von Werssowetz - guitar, vocals, keys
Jeanne Kennedy Crosby - bass, vocals
Zacery Stanley - drums, vocals, guitar
David Chaparro - guitar, trumpet
Caroline Chaparro - sax, bells, vocals
Bill Horist - guitar
Gilles - engineer, percussion
Andy Brown - Master

All Songs c & p Starbage Music (ascap)

This is North Pole Record Number 19


all rights reserved



North Pole Records Billings, montana

North Pole Records is based in Billings, MT. We work internationally with artists that we find engaging and interesting.

contact / help

Contact North Pole Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account